Twitter, chai and a dress.

Big news: Cents of a Country Girl has a place on twitter now! You can follow me, if you so desire, at twitter.com/centsofacg

I’ve had a busy week; it feels like I’ve hardly been at home at all. I did do some unusual things this week though:

  • Made homemade Chai syrup. I haven’t allowed myself to buy a chai latte since before Christmas, so this is a great way to have a chai latte without the $5 hit to my wallet.  I got the recipe here.
  • Spent the most I’ve ever spent on gas before: $50 to fill up my tank from almost empty. Ouch.
  • Made a super quinoa-tuna salad with feta and used the leftover quinoa to make quinoa oatmeal for breakfast.
  • Was able to get Shaw Direct to give my parents a much better deal for their TV – more channels for less money!  I am thoroughly enjoying being able to watch HGTV and TCM.
  • Went out for lunch with coworkers. I don’t do this very often, but it was a coworker’s birthday. It was a nice break from my brown-bag lunches.
  • Put the deposit down on my sister’s bridesmaid dress for my cousin’s wedding. The dress had to get ordered so it will arrive by the time the bride’s parents go to England, so they can take the dress to my sister, so my sister can get it altered before the wedding. Got all that? I definitely wasn’t expecting having to put a dress on my credit card. In the grand scheme of things it’s not going to break my bank if I don’t get the money from my sister, but I fully expect her to pay me back and I will be reminding  during our next skype chat.

I find that I quite often cover costs that are supposed to be shared between myself and my sisters. I’m trying not to do that so much anymore. I feel bad saying no or ‘pay me’, but I know it’s important that they learn I’m not an ATM and the importance of budgeting. Have you ever loaned money to, or covered an expense for a sibling or family member? How do you balance family and money?

Have a good ‘un

Country Girl

Categories: Family, Weekly Summary | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Twitter, chai and a dress.

  1. Ohhh boy. I actually wrote a post about this ( http://add-vodka.blogspot.com/2011/01/lending-friends-money.html ). I used to let my brother put his bills on my credit card all the time, and then he would never give me the money. So I pretty much ended up paying his bills for him. Pretty frustrating stuff!

    Sweet recipe for Chai syrup, I’ll have to try it!

  2. I’m going to give that chai recipe a shot too!

    I’ve never lent money to family. While my sister is very reliable for paying money back on bank loans, she drops the ball on family loans. I don’t want to go there.

  3. Oh man! I am going to have to try the Chai recipe! I love Chai, it is my weakness for sure.

  4. For me, it depends on what the item is. For instance, when my sister was studying abroad last year, she was low on cash at the end. Since I was working and I hadn’t given her money for the trip before, I told her that it was a gift and she didn’t have to pay me back. My sisters and parents are pretty reliable that way, so I have no problem lending or giving when they need help.

    I can’t say the same for too many other of my family members, and I am glad that they haven’t asked me.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

