Maintaining and improving your credit score

You’ve got a copy of your credit report or you’ve gone to the bank and they tell your credit score…and it’s low. Disappointingly low. Damn. Low credit scores can translate into higher interest rates and difficulty in obtaining credit. On the other hand, maybe you’ve got got a great credit score and you want to know how to keep it high. I’ve put together a quick list of tips to improve and maintain your credit score:

  • Pay ALL your bill on time and in full. This includes bills like your cellphone and utilities, in addition to credit card bills. Late bills, even cellphone bills, may be reported to the credit-reporting agencies.
  • Reduce your debt. Pay back outstanding loans as soon as possible.
  • Stay under your credit card limit – the further from the limit the better.
  • Reduce how many credit applications you make. Many credit applications over a short period of time may have a negative impact on your credit score.
  • Be wary of companies that claim to repair credit scores. There are no magic bullets or loopholes for instantly fixing your credit score. Truly, the best way to repair your credit is to adopt better credit habits.

It’s in your best interests to keep a high credit score, especially when you go to apply for a mortgage or car loan. For even more information on credit reports, score and ratings, check out the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada’s publication: Understanding your Credit Report and Credit Score.

Have a good ‘un

Country Girl

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Maintaining and improving your credit score

  1. One of my PF confessions is that I used to pay my cell phone bill late, a lot. šŸ˜¦

    I now have it automated, but I’m not quite sure that’s a great idea. Since, many bloggers have pointed out that if I pay for it, I am essentially agreeing with what they are charging me.

  2. My boyfriend has a similar credit score to me (I think he’s off by a few points) and he has a tendency to forget to pay the credit card bill and pay a few days later (then racks up some interest charges).

    I on the other hand, pay it off as soon as I get the bill! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

