Weekend Reading

I am so glad it’s the weekend. This week was a little rough, I had some bad news at work on Wednesday, so that put me in a bit of a funk for the rest of the week. While what happened at work really sucked, it’s not the worst thing in the world. I’m also very lucky to have a great boss who is supporting me and guiding me as I get dragged through the mud. Everyone should be so lucky to have such a great mentor. I have also learned a valuable lesson about writing down EVERYTHING, which won’t be soon forgotten.

Today I took a tour into the city with my Dad and cousin to look at suits. The boys found suits (which got my seal of approval) and I managed to avoid the perils of the mall for the most part. All I bought was some tea (good, loose tea is hard to find out in the boonies) and the new Harry Potter movie on DVD. Neither my sister or I felt like shopping really, and some of the prices made us laugh. I can think of a lot of ways to spend $100+ dollars but not on yoga pants.

There were lots of great posts this week, so I thought I’d share a few I think you should go read. In fact, I think you should go read them right now. Drop everything and read these posts (in no particular order):

Jen of Paying Myself wrote a great review of the Nook. If you’re looking at getting an e-reader (I have a Kindle and love it), you should definitely take a look at her review.

Young and Thrifty posted about end-of-life planning. Everyone should read this post and then have a talk with your parents/significant other/loved ones. Someday, you’ll be glad you did.

LC (you may know her as Blonde on a Budget) has a new blog: Dogs and Dollars. I hope she gives cats some love too  Winking smile So happy to see her back!

Operation Negotiation by SS4BC – go see how she did.

Fabulously Broke wrote a really interesting post regarding homeownership, renting and the idea of stability.

Speaking of home ownership, Krystal at Give Me Back My Five Bucks bought a place of her own! Congratulations go out to her!

Money Maus is apartment hunting in NYC. I had no idea there was a bedbug registry…*shudder*.

Any gals looking for a super sounding spa in Toronto (or Toranta as it’s known around here), check out Frugirls review of the Pure and Simple Spa.

That should keep you busy for now. Tomorrow I’ll have post about my ongoing quest for lower insurance for my car. I think I’ll close with a random picture I took this week – my cat meeting a watermelon for the first time. P1000268

Have a good ‘un

Country Girl

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Weekend Reading

  1. #1 Thanks for the link love!

    #2 That picture of your cat is awesome. 🙂

  2. Wow your cat is going at it! 🙂

    Thanks for the mention. It’s a tough subject to read about, let alone talk about. 🙂

  3. Thanks for the link love back to my Fabulously Broke site 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

