Car insurance–what’s going for me and what isn’t.

It’s time to renew my car insurance. Yay…I feel like insurance shopping is about as fun as stepping on a nail. It’s not my ideal way to spend a Saturday, but it’s something I have to do if I want to continue to drive my zoom-zoom. I visited a few local insurance brokers and shopped around online to get some insurance quotes. After filling out the forms and answering all the questions, I realized that some aspects of my life were helping me get a lower rate, and others were working against me. Here’s what I figure I have going for me and what isn’t.

What I have going for me

-No claims or tickets. Obviously, this helps to keep my rates low.

-I’m now over 25. Usually insurance rates drop once a person turns 25 (provided, of course, they have a good driving record).

-I live out in the middle of nowhere. I get a lower rate because my car is less likely to be stolen or vandalized than someone who lives in an urban area. My car is also parked in a private driveway. If you have to park on the street, you may have higher insurance rates compared to those who park in private garages or driveways.

-I’m the lone driver on my policy. Having another driver can hurt your wallet, if that driver is young or has a couple tickets (especially any offense related to alcohol).

-I have 4 winter tires on my car. Some insurance companies offer discounts for drivers who put winter tires on their car.

-I’m a female. Statics show that as a female, I’m less likely to engage in reckless behaviour behind the wheel, and insurance rates reflect that.

-I go for a higher deductible. Lower deductibles = higher rates.

What isn’t going me

-I drive a new-ish car. My car is a 2009 Mazda 3. Newer the car, generally the more expensive the rates.

-I live in Ontario. Insurance rates are higher in Ontario than in Quebec and some other provinces.  

-I use my car for commuting. The more you’re on the road, the more likely you are to be involved in a collision – this equals higher premiums.

-I’m single. If I were married, I’d apparently be more stable behind the wheel and get a better insurance rate for it.

Overall, I’ve got more going for me than not. Next time, I’ll share the range of quotes I got. Any of these things surprise you? Is there anything working for/against your insurance rates that I haven’t listed?

Have a good ‘un

Country Girl

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Car insurance–what’s going for me and what isn’t.

  1. Pingback: This Isnt Me

  2. Bahahaha, I love how being married makes you more “stable” behind the wheel.

    That would explain why whenever I get stressed out about boys, I start weaving lanes and hitting pedestrians. Thanks for the heads up, insurance companies! I’ll go out and get me a man!

    *Sarcasm*

    Great post though!!!

    • Haha! As if it wasn’t bad enough that my grandma keeps asking me when I’m going to get a boyfriend, now the insurance companies are judging me. 😉

  3. Hi, I’m looking for cheaper car insurance in Antigua and Barbuda, do you have any good websites on it?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

