Quotin’

Last week I wrote a post about car insurance and all the factors that can influence rates. I’ve been shopping around, trying to get the best deal possible. The internet is a great tool for lazy people like me, I can insurance shop without having to change out of my pjs. One of the first places I went for an online quote was kanetix.com. Kanetix provides quotes from multiple insurance providers once you enter some basic info. Here are the three lowest quotes I got:

quote

In addition to some online quotes, I also visited some local brokers and of course, there’s also the quote from my current insurance company. My local brokers gave me quotes that were comparable to the quotes from Belair Direct and Intact Insurance, coming in around $120/month.

After getting the quotes, I looked around for reviews of Belair and Intact. For the local companies, I asked my friends and family – especially those who’ve had to make claims. When it comes right down to it, I’d rather pay a little higher rate and have good agent helping me through a claim (although, fingers crossed that never happens!). While Belair is known for super cheap rates, I came across numerous complaints about customer service and how claims were dealt with. Not cool.

After reading all the reviews, it seems like the company I’m with might have the best deal for me, with a good balance between the rate and customer service.

Now, I just have to remember to put the new slips in my car.

Have a good ‘un

Country Girl

Categories: Unavoidable Costs | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Quotin’

  1. My dad and I just switched insurance companies, and switched to RBC. I’ve also heard that it can be a pain to deal with Bellair if you need to file a claim, so I’m glad that you didn’t pick them.:)

  2. Wow. Those are some pretty different quotes. We use State Farm for our car insurance. We’ve had pretty good dealings with them personally.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

