I’m debt free!

Yesterday, I paid off the last $2000 dollars of my car loan. I am now totally debt free. I almost skipped out of the bank after the loan was closed. As I walked back to my office, I was tempted to buy myself a treat for paying off my loan and being debt free. A couple of ideas for different treats came to mind: an iPad, a chai latte from the local coffee shop, or a Bounty bar. Interestingly, the treats came to mind in order of most expensive to least, and almost as quickly as I thought of them, I rejected them. I couldn’t bring myself to buy a reward for paying off my car loan. My thought process was why celebrate spending with more spending? I strolled right on by the coffee shop and the convenience store without spending a cent. When I got back to the office, I congratulated myself on resisting spending.

Half an hour later, my boss came into my office and asked me if I wanted to go to the city, go shopping on Friday, and ‘oh yeah, drop off a proposal’ while I’m there.

Thank you universe, the irony is spot-on, as usual.

My plan for my trip to the city on Friday so far is to drop off the proposal, visit a couple pals and profs at the university, and then go to the mall. I have to get my friend a birthday present, but beyond that, I haven’t thought much about shopping. I think I’m going to sit down and make a shopping list before I step foot in the mall. There are a few things I’d like, and if the budget allows, I will buy them. If the June budget doesn’t allow it, I won’t by it. Simple as that.

That is, until I see a super cute pair of shoes.

Have a good ‘un

Country Girl.

Categories: Uncategorized | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “I’m debt free!

  1. Congratulations on becoming debt free! I envy your financial position. Also, well done on saying no to the treat, I know I’m bad for that personally. Being debt free is the treat in and of itself 🙂

  2. Pingback: I'm debt free! « Cents of a Country Girl | Debt Free In 3 Months

  3. WAHOO!!!!! Congratulations!!!

  4. Yay! Congratulations 🙂

  5. That’s awesome! That would be a great feeling! Enjoy yourself on Friday.

  6. Thanks everyone! 😀

  7. Yayyyyy!!! Debt free!!! Congratulations!!

  8. Pingback: Breathe Easy « diggingoutandup

  9. Pingback: Link Love | fabulously fru-girl

  10. Congrats! What an awesome accomplishment and great feeling! 🙂

  11. LC

    Debt free, holy cow! This post is my ultimate goal! Good for you, girl 🙂

  12. Pingback: Cents of a Country Girl is 1! « Cents of a Country Girl

  13. Pingback: How Can I Get Out of Debt? Debt Free Stories | On Target Coaching

  14. Pingback: Dealing with the Emotions of Becoming Debt-Free

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

