May recap and June budget–bring on summer!

Sweet Almond Blossoms

Pretty Sweet Almond Blossoms

I think I can safely say that summer is finally here. The last week of May and this first week of June have been hot and sunny. We got the soybeans planted, thanks to a couple days of dry, warm weather, which is a big relief. It’s been a busy work, between work and the farm. Yesterday was a nice break though, there was a tornado a couple municipalities north of us which knocked out our power for most of the day, so most of the day was spent outside on the deck. Let me tell you this though, Canadian Tire is one dark, dark place when the lights go out.

May wasn’t a bad month for me. I didn’t do a lot of extra spending and stayed within my budget for the most part. Unfortunately, I spent much more on gas than I thought I would: $264.66 compared to my budgeted amount of $175. Even though I went over budget by just under $125, I feel really good about my financial situation because I put $2000 dollars towards my car loan and paid it off. I’m now absolutely, totally debt free. Yehaw! It’s a great feeling. I really enjoyed making my budget for June and being able to put a big fat zero in the car payment column.

Budget Item Monthly Budgeted Amount Amount Spent
Bank Fee  $                                                          $                             
Business Services  $                                                          $                             
Auto Insurance  $                                            127.00  $               (126.16)
Auto Payment  $                                            304.00  $               (276.76)
Gas & Fuel  $                                            175.00  $               (264.66)
Service & Parts  $                                                          $                             
Entertainment  $                                               30.00  $                  (41.75)
Coffee Shops  $                                                          $                             
Fast Food  $                                                          $                             
Snacks  $                                                 5.00  $                             
Groceries  $                                               20.00  $                    (7.90)
Restaurants  $                                               30.00  $                  (28.81)
Gift  $                                            175.00  $               (167.62)
Dentist  $                                                          $                             
Fitness Class  $                                               90.00  $                  (90.00)
Gym  $                                               50.00  $                  (49.32)
Chiropractic  $                                                          $                             
Books  $                                                 8.00  $                  (30.65)
Hobbies  $                                                          $                  (50.00)
Travel Cost  $                                                          $                             
Mobile Phone  $                                               39.55  $                  (39.55)
Hair  $                                                          $                             
Personal Care  $                                                          $                             
Pharmacy  $                                                          $                  (15.81)
Pet Food & Supplies  $                                                          $                             
Veterinary  $                                                          $                             
Clothing  $                                               20.00  $                  (20.00)
Electronics & Software  $                                                          $                             
Shopping  $                                                          $                             
Uncategorized  $                                               30.00  $                  (17.29)
Spending Subtotal  $                                         1,103.55  $            (1,226.28)

Budget Breakdown

Entertainment: Saw 3 movies, but bought 4 movie tickets and snacks. My buddy forgot his wallet, so I paid for his way in. Maybe I can convince him to let me drive his mustang now.

Gift: bought a birthday gift for my sister, a mother’s day gift and a father’s day gift, and stayed in budget.

Snacks: Didn’t buy a single one. It will be harder in the upcoming months as prime ice cream season arrives.

Restaurants: Ate out twice this month. I only intended to have one ‘dine-out’ event, but I forgot my lunch one day.

Books: Bought the last Brian Jacques book that will ever be published. His books were instrumental in turning me into a reader when I was kid, so I decided to grab his last book in hardcover. I could have bought it for the kindle, but I wanted to complete my collection. Anywho, I read the book in about a day and I’ll admit it, I got a little teary-eyed at the end.

Clothing: Bought a pair of coral coloured flats (from Walmart) and socks. How exciting ‘eh?

Uncategorized: spending includes 3 stag and doe tickets, and photo printing for a bridal shower.

Here’s what I’ve planned out for June:

Budget Item Monthly Budgeted Amount
Bank Fee  $                                                        
Business Services  $                                                        
Auto Insurance  $                                            127.00
Auto Payment  $                                                        
Gas & Fuel  $                                            200.00
Service & Parts  $                                                        
Entertainment  $                                               40.00
Coffee Shops  $                                                        
Fast Food  $                                                        
Snacks  $                                                 5.00
Groceries  $                                               20.00
Restaurants  $                                               30.00
Gift  $                                            100.00
Dentist  $                                                        
Fitness Class  $                                                        
Gym  $                                               50.00
Chiropractic  $                                                        
Books  $                                                 8.00
Hobbies  $                                                        
Travel Cost  $                                                        
Mobile Phone  $                                               39.55
Hair  $                                                        
Personal Care  $                                            400.00
Pharmacy  $                                               20.00
Pet Food & Supplies  $                                                        
Veterinary  $                                                        
Clothing  $                                               20.00
Electronics & Software  $                                                        
Shopping  $                                            200.00
Uncategorized  $                                               30.00
Spending Subtotal  $                                         1,264.55

No car payment! I bumped up my spending on gas and entertainment. Hopefully I can keep the gas spending in check this month. I put more money towards entertainment too because I expect a couple trips to the movies this month.

I have a fair chunk of change set aside for Personal Care – $400, this is for a spa day with my best friend for her birthday. I’ve had a pedicure, but never had a facial or massage, so I’m kind of excited, but it is a big expense. Something that’s to be done once in a blue moon, I think.

I’ve also bumped up my shopping budget because I need to get some summer clothes and refresh my wardrobe. I also have to buy a dress for my cousin’s wedding (which I’ll be MCing – squee!).

How did you guys do last month? I’d also love to hear what people tip for spa services, or any tips for tipping.

Have a good ‘un,

Country Girl

Categories: Budget, Monthly Summary, Spending | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “May recap and June budget–bring on summer!

  1. TLC

    I just found your blog, you’re as detailed as me 🙂 Is it just me, but are you missing a big cost such as rent?

  2. TLC

    Aaaaah, okay. Makes more sense now. Living on your own is so much more expensive, so soak up the chance to save as long as you can!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

