What house hunting has taught me

I’ve been looking for a place to call my own, for about three weeks now with very little luck. My first foyer into real estate has been interesting. There’s nothing like wandering through strangers’ houses to make you realize a few things about yourself. I do love meeting with my realtor and touring a newly listed place, but as I wander through a house, I inevitably get a little disappointed when I realize that it’s not going to be the place I buy. There have been a couple places that were ok, but after a little further investigating revealed some major structural problems or hazards (hello asbestos siding and insulation), I’m back to having no decent housing prospects. My first day of house hunting, I looked at eight places (it was a busy day) and since then I’ve looked at a couple more. In my wanderings through peoples houses, I have come to realize a few things:

  • If you smoke so much that it makes my eyes water the instant I get within 10 feet of your house, I’m not going to go into your house, let alone buy it. I don’t care if you have a walk in closet big enough to host a family of grizzly bears; I don’t want to go inside your chimney house.
  • I will never build/buy a house on a lot that’s dug out to be six feet lower than the surrounding lots. Aside from looking out the windows and having a lovely view of the neighbor’s foundation, I’m pretty sure that water runs downhill. I really don’t want to buy a place, only to have to jack it up and backfill the lot because the place floods every time it rains or the neighbors flush their toilet.
  • I don’t mind a bit of renovations, I can handle dry walling and a bit a work is to be expected. This doesn’t mean that I want to reattach the back half of your house that you’ve let fall off.
  • I do not understand why anyone would put carpet in a bathroom or kitchen. They must enjoy vacuuming (and mold) more than I do.
  • If I see a bucket of water in the middle of a room, the first thing I will do is look up.
  • Faux wood paneling is the work of the devil. There must have been a good faux wood paneling salesman around here about thirty years ago, because every place around seems to have the damned stuff.
  • I intensely dislike the idea of getting into the garage from the house via the master bedroom.
  • I will never, ever, ever put wallpaper anywhere.
  • When I go to sell my place, I will not leave two birds in the house that yell obscenities at anyone viewing it.
  • I know that people have different standards for cleanliness, but dirty diapers left on top of the fridge is not cool. Seeing diapers on top of a fridge will colour my opinion not only of the house but also of the people living there.
  • My Dad and I are not afraid to crawl into an attic or a crawlspace. I don’t care if people think we’re nosy, a house is a big investment and you can be sure that getting a little dirty isn’t going to stop me checking out every nook and cranny.

I’ve looked at some interesting places so far, if you couldn’t tell. I’m glad I’m not working against time in my house search, it’s not like I have to move or be out of somewhere, which helps to keep the stress levels down. I can see real estate being much less of an adventure if I had to adhere to a strict timeline. Do you have any good stories about house hunting? What was your first venture into real estate like?

Have a good ‘un

Country Girl

Categories: Housing | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “What house hunting has taught me

  1. Haha, I wish I had some winners like that to share, but the biggest disaster I walked into actually ended up being the one I bought! The carpet was destroyed, they had pulled up and stretched the elements on the stove, there were holes in the walls (that the bank had roughly patched them), they had torn the towel bar off the wall, you name it! We walked in the front door and the realtor almost turned around and walked right back out. It was a 6 year old home that had gone into foreclosure when the market dropped, and the renters had trashed it.

    I ended up buying it because I was looking forward to making a place my own anyway, so I didn’t mind putting some work into it. I ended up getting a home for $50-$75k less than what similar homes in the area are going for. 🙂

    Good luck in your search. I looked at about 20 before I found mine.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

