June Recap and a crazy July

I’ve had a crazy last couple of weeks. It feels like so much as happened so fast. I am disappointed that I haven’t been able to keep up with this blog and all the other blogs I love reading, but I just haven’t had any time for it. I hope everyone had a good long weekend though – I spent the long weekend in the US. Very patriotic of me, I know, but it’s the only ‘free’ weekend both Mum and I had to go. It was a great trip, my Dad, as well as aunt, uncle and cousin came with us. We had a bit of  a wait to cross the border (2 hours), but it went fast thanks to a movie and my iPad. I like the States, but even just a smidgeon into Michigan, going to another country always makes me appreciate Canada. If I get a chance this weekend, I will do up a post about the trip.

Oh my, June was hard on my budget. I pretty much blew it. I’d like to think that the summer sun has fried the part of my brain that says ‘Whoah girl, no more spending’. Or maybe I got bit by an anti-frugal fish fly (do fish flies even bite?). Something happened and I fell off the wagon. While I feel guilty and a little ashamed about my spending, on a positive note, I did not spend more than I earned. Also, seeing how much spending I did this month has helped me resolve to seriously cut my extra spending in July.

Here’s the damage from June:

Budget Item Monthly Budgeted Amount Amount Spent
Bank Fee  $                                                          $                             
Business Services  $                                                          $                             
Auto Insurance  $                                            127.00  $               (126.16)
Auto Payment  $                                                          $                             
Gas & Fuel  $                                            200.00  $               (212.20)
Service & Parts  $                                                          $                             
Entertainment  $                                               40.00  $                  (21.00)
Coffee Shops  $                                                          $                             
Fast Food  $                                               10.00  $                    (6.24)
Snacks  $                                                 5.00  $                             
Groceries  $                                               20.00  $                             
Restaurants  $                                               30.00  $                  (39.22)
Gift  $                                            100.00  $               (170.48)
Dentist  $                                                          $                             
Fitness Class  $                                                          $                             
Gym  $                                               50.00  $                  (54.75)
Chiropractic  $                                                          $                             
Books  $                                                 8.00  $                             
Hobbies  $                                                          $                             
Travel Cost  $                                                          $                             
Mobile Phone  $                                               39.55  $                  (39.55)
Hair  $                                               40.00  $                  (38.90)
Personal Care  $                                            400.00  $               (392.57)
Pharmacy  $                                               20.00  $                  (24.27)
Pet Food & Supplies  $                                                          $                    (8.06)
Veterinary  $                                                          $               (194.20)
Clothing  $                                               20.00  $                             
Electronics & Software  $                                                          $               (861.88)
Shopping  $                                            200.00  $               (184.69)
Uncategorized  $                                               30.00  $                             
Spending Subtotal  $                                         1,339.55  $            (2,374.17)

My big expenses in June were: an Ipad (but I love it ever so much, so while I hate how much it cost, I gotta say it was worth it), a day at the spa (I can’t believe how long my pedicure has lasted), shopping (I finally caved and bought some new summer clothes), and vet bills. I came home one day and my cat’s eye was really red, two visits later, my cat is getting some eye drops but her third eyelid is still swollen. She still has a couple more days of drops, so hopefully it clears up and I don’t have to take her back to the vet again.

I usually put up the next month’s budget, but I’m not going to share my July budget. It’s not that I have anything to hide, like an addiction to Dairy Queen’s strawberry lemonade, it’s just that I know July is going to be crazy for me. Just this week, I put in an offer on a house and it’s been accepted. So barring anything horrible during all the inspections, I should be a home owner soon! All the home-ownership stuff is taking up a fair bit of my time and my mental capacity. I’m still trying to fathom that I may own a home soon. Eeeee! No worries though, I will be tracking my money like a hawk.

How was your month? Do you think you spend more if the weather is nice?

Have a good ‘un

Country Girl

Categories: Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “June Recap and a crazy July

  1. Oh yay! Congrats on the house news!!! Can’t wait to hear more about it.

  2. I know exactly what you mean (except for the house part! But congrats, again!).

    I’ve pushed back my haircut for a couple months and just got my bangs trimmed (free) to help out with my summer budget. But I it’s just so hard to ignore the beckoning of the beautiful summer patios!

  3. TLC

    July is going to be a really hard month for us financially. So many activities… weddings, concerts, vacations. We definitely spend more in the summer months. By the way, can’t wait to hear more about your house! Post photos if you don’t mind sharing 🙂

  4. My hairdresser is going to be mortified that I’m putting off the haircut yet again (not to speak of my roots). Summertime and budgets don’t go hand in hand too easily. Don’t beat yourself up about it!

    Huge congratulations on the house! I hope that the sale goes really smoothly.

  5. Oooh I want to know more about the whole house searching process. Do tell!

  6. Kay

    Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

