Shopping in the South.

I’m happy to report that I had a no-spend trip to Toronto. I didn’t buy a single thing, except for food. Man, I wish I could get Thai food on a regular basis. I also tried a creme brûlée latte from Starbucks and nearly became hyperglycemic. It was tasty, but wow, more sugar than I’m used too. I did go to Eaton’s Centre too, for a look around and found a pair of awesome lace up boots, but once I saw the $400 price tag I put them back on the shelf post haste. I wasn’t really keen on the Eaton’s Centre, I found it too loud and crowded. I can only imagine what it’s like on the weekends.

My task for this week is to come up with a shopping strategy for my trip to the States next week. I’m heading down with some of the ladies of my clan for a two day shopping trip. We stay at a rental house and split the cost of the week’s rental with a group of ladies related to one of my coworkers. My group gets the house for the first part of the week, then the other group gets it. This year, we’re staying for $52/person, which I think is a great deal for a huge house, right on the lake. I love watching the freighters, all lit up at night, sail by.

So far, my plan is to hit up: Hobby Lobby, Target, Kohls and Macy’s. Oh yeah, and Meijers. I need to stock up on those pretzel flip crackers. Best crackers ever. I am actually kind of excited to go grocery shopping and stock up on all the goodies that are only found state-side (Fruity Pebbles, oh yeah!). We’re going to make a trip out to one of the big Premiere outlet malls too. I like to head States-side once and a while for shopping because I find there’s so much more in the way of selection and of course, the price differences in certain items. More and more, I’m finding that the local malls around here are all full of the same stores and the same stuff, no matter which city I go to.

Anyone else planning any cross border shopping anytime soon? What are your favourite American stores or products?

Have a good ‘un
Country Girl

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Shopping in the South.

  1. Hmm I have a lot of favourite American stores. Everything is just so much cheaper. When I go “down south” i stock up on Burts Bees face wash, I save about $5 by buying it down there. I like the Premier Outlets and usualy stock up on clothes there. I actually never buy any clothes in Canada (unless its a sample sale lol) because of the tax and the high mark up on the prices.

    What’s Hobby Lobby? 🙂

    • TLC

      Hobby Lobby is am amazing “craft” store – wedding items, seasonal decor, framing, crafts, wall decor, frames, candles, etc. I *love* that store!!

  2. TLC

    I live in the Midwest and my favorite stores I shop at on a regular basis are: Old Navy, Target, Kohl’s, Hobby Lobby, & Barnes & Noble. My favorite restaurants are more localized. Have fun shopping!

  3. Cait

    I don’t love the Eaton Centre either. Or huge shopping malls in general. Happy to hear you put the boots back down, haha. How was your shopping trip in the US? Give us an update! 🙂

    • The boots were so pretty, but I think I’ll survive without them. The shopping trip was great! I just did up a post with an overview of some of my purchases 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

