Spoils from the States

Last week I headed south for a shopping trip in the States. It was a great trip. I had a blast shopping and spending time with my fam-jam and friends that came down with us. We rented a house on the beach, which was great. It was huge and cheap. It’s nice to have a full kitchen and lots of space, instead of everyone being cramped into a tiny hotel room. After a stop at duty-free (yay for cheap rye!) and a thorough grilling at the border, we were off to the malls. We went straight to the mall in Port Huron, and perused the American department stores (Macy’s, JC Penny) and popped into Target too. I love Target, it’s the best place to get DVDs for cheap. A lot of the stores in the mall still had their Black Friday sales on, which was great. The stores weren’t overly crowded either, which was also nice. After we were through at the Mall, we headed to Meijers to do some grocery shopping. I really notice the price difference between Canada and the US in groceries. I grabbed my favourite key-lime yogurt (it’s like eating dessert), found the pickled peppers a neighbour asked me to look for, and some other random snacks. By that time, it was dark and rainy so we decided to head back to the house.

I learned that reflective road paint stops at the border between Ontario and Michigan. I always thought reflective paint was a fairly standard feature of road lines…apparently not. That made driving around Port Huron a little tricky, but I managed to keep in my lane, I think, and not destroy the car.

The next day, we went to Great Lakes Crossings. It’s an outlet mall, and it’s huge. There’s a pile of stores in there. It’s not bad, some of the stores had great stuff and others, well, not so much. I suppose that’s the nature of outlet stores though. I ventured into J-Crew; I’ve heard a lot about it, but holy damn, that stuff is expensive, even the outlet stuff! Needless to say, they didn’t get any of my money. After the outlet mall, we headed back to Utica and the big mall there. It was fun shopping there. I found an awesome pair of boots in H&M there, but of course they didn’t have my size. Boo. Everyone came out of the mall with something though. Exhausted after a full day of shopping (and driving for me – man, driving in Michigan is so much different than Ontario), we headed back to Port Huron.

Our last day, we had some time to kill before we could cross the border (gotta get that 48 hours in), we hit up Kohls and Hobby Lobby. I love, love Hobby Lobby. I could spend hours looking at all the decor stuff there. I had an armful of stuff there, but easily could have filled up a cart. After Hobby Lobby, we were all pretty well shopped out and it was time to head back across the border. A quick stop at the guard shack and we were on our way home with the spoils of our trip.

So what did I all buy? Well, here’s some snapshots of some of the things I bought. I bought a few other things, but I didn’t take a picture of them because I either put them away or was too lazy to hunt around of them. I think my favourite purchase in the cat-dress. It’s quirky and looks super cute on me (or so I think anyways).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I managed to get a couple gifts, so I’m almost done my Christmas shopping. Yippie! I’m really sick of spending money now πŸ˜‰

How’s your Christmas shopping going? Anyone have any big shopping trips planned?

Have a good ‘un

Country Girl

Categories: Shopping, Spending | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Spoils from the States

  1. Ah DUE SOUTH!! Oh my, I remember watching that shows on reruns at 3am. I love the boots and jeans and I would totally put your “bath” sign in my own house πŸ™‚

  2. I love shopping in the states! It’s the best. I also love the booties and the “bath” sign!

    I started Christmas shopping the other day but didn’t get very far. With school and all of that, my hearts not in it!

  3. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

