Merry (Late) Christmas!

Merry Christmas (or whichever holiday you partake in)! I hope everyone had a nice Christmas break full of family, friends and food. First off, I’d better apologize for my absence of late, both on the blog and on twitter. I do have an excuse though, because for Christmas, I got the flu. What a joy that was. I must have been really naughty if Santa skipped coal and went straight for a virus.

It started on Wednesday and it hit me like a freight train. I haven’t had the flu in a long time, so I kind of forgot how crappy it makes you feel. I had the full on body aches, chills, fever, and all the other fun symptoms that go with the flu. I ended up losing six pounds in two days because I couldn’t/didn’t eat anything but gatorade and popsicles those first couple days. I was feeling a little bit better by Christmas Eve day, but I think I overexerted myself trying to clean my house up and subsequently felt pretty damn lousy again that night (resulting in me missing the family Christmas party, boo).  I felt a little bit better Christmas Day morning and I was able to spend Christmas with my family, but I didn’t eat much of the turkey dinner my Mom made or do much else than sit on the couch, wrapped up in a blanket. Now, a full week later, I think I am finally over the flu. Thank goodness for that – I have a lot of eating to make up for.

Needless to say, I just didn’t have the energy to sit at my computer. I was also trying to keep my flu germs relatively confined to just me and minimize the number of surfaces requiring disinfection. Unfortunately, I wasn’t the only one sick in the family over the holidays; my uncle had a heart attack two days before Christmas. Thankfully, he got to a hospital quickly, and is recovering in a cardiac care unit. Between my uncle’s heart attack and my own bout with the flu, I have a whole new appreciation for my health. Presents and stuff are a nice, but it really doesn’t matter if you’re not healthy. I am so glad that I live in a country where the flu is for the most part an inconvenience and where hospitals have the technology and staff capable of busting clots out of arteries.

I was spoiled by my family, and not just because I was sick. My Dad made me a mirror out of one of the old frame windows from our barn. It’s so special to me and absolutely one of kind. It’s the most thoughtful gift I think anyone has ever given me, I absolutely love it. Homemade gifts rule! That said, I am also super happy to have the first and second seasons of Community on DVD. Go Greendale!

Have a good ‘un

Country Girl

Categories: Family | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Merry (Late) Christmas!

  1. Cait

    I’ve always wanted to make a mirror out of an old window frame. I bet it’s beautiful!

    Happy to hear you’re feeling better, CG.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

