Tag! You’re it!

Cassie from Digging Up and Out tagged me in this nifty little blog game thing. You get 11 questions to answer and then you have to put out 11 for someone else to answer. I guess it’s sort of like those old fashion chain letters, except without the creepy ‘if you don’t send this to 34 other people you will die alone and warty’ threats. So here are the rules of the game:

The Rules:

#1 – Post these rules.
#2 – Answer the 11 questions from the person who tagged you.
#3 – Create 11 new questions for the people you tag.
#4 – Tag 11 people and link them to your post.
#5 – Let them know that you tagged them.

Sweet. Rule 1 completed. Onto the questions (apologies for short answers, my brain is tired and all I can think about is going to sleep in my new bed. Wheee!)

1) When you started paying off your debt, did you do it by balance or interest rate?

When I started paying off my student loan, I did it by balance. I was near-obsessed with getting that number to zero. Come to think of it, I can’t even remember what the interest rate on that loan was off the top of my head – some pf blogger I am!

2) What was your first job, and how much did you make doing it?

I got my first job when I was 14, working as a tour guide at a lighthouse. I loved that job so much that I worked there for another five years after that, eventually becoming the boss. I made $6.48/hr, which was student minimum wage way back when. I didn’t make a fortune working at the lighthouse, but it was more than enough for a kid without any bills to pay.

3) Have you ever stalled on an investing opportunity and regretted it?

I regret not buying apple stocks in the early 90s. Actually, I don’t have a lot of investment experience, which I regret – that counts right?

4) What was the blog that first got you interested in blogging?

Give Me Back My Five Bucks twas the blog.

5) If you had to trim your budget to the bare bones, what is the last thing you’d cut?

Geez, tough question Cassie. If I had to go down to a bare bones budget, the last thing I would get rid of would be the internet. I would cut everything else possible, even my cellphone, before giving up the internet.

6) What was the worst piece of financial advice you’ve ever received from a well intentioned person?

Invest in GICs. At the time, GICs were too inflexible for me, but I listened to a trusted relative, when I should have done my own research.

7) What do you wear to work?

Whatever I pull out of the closet. Casual is the style for my office, so I usually wear dark jeans, jeggings, fun dresses, that kind of thing. My favourite clothes-item that I get to wear at work are my moccasins.

8) How much money would it take to make you feel “set”?

I think I would feel set if my income was around $100,000. I live pretty simply, I don’t want for the extravagant, so I think if I made double what I make now, I would be pretty well off.

9) If you were to start over, which money mistakes would you make again because they contained valuable lessons?

I would get a student loan again. That loan was so crucial in teaching me how to control my spending, and live with and deal with debt.

10) Are you following in your parent’s financial patterns? Why or why not?

I think I am, and that’s a good thing. My Mom worked hard to pay off her student loans and paid them off shortly after she graduated and started working full time (and people say we just look alike). My Dad is frugal and a cautious investor, but tends to overspend on occasion on gifts and snacks; all of which, I am  or do too. I am really, really fortunate to have been raised by two very level-headed and financially responsible people.

11) When you’re short on cash, what are your go to cheap meals?

Spaghetti, as far as I figure, it’s probably the cheapest thing to make when you have your own canned tomatoes. My other cheap alternative – whatever Mom’s cooking. I’m such a food mooch.

Alright here are my 11 questions:

  1. What’s your financial pet peeve?
  2. What’s your dream job?
  3. You’ve got $1000 to give to one charity, which one do you choose and why?
  4. What’s your favourite thing about blogging?
  5. What accent is sexiest to your ears?
  6. How do you budget – jars, spreadsheet, paper and pencil?
  7. What’s your favourite no-cost winter activity?
  8. Who do you admire or aspire to, financially?
  9. If you could change one thing about your work, what would that be?
  10. Apples or oranges?
  11. What’s the best financial advice you’ve ever been given?

I tag anyone who’s reading this (‘cuz I’m too sleepy and fuzzy-headed to figure out who all has been tagged already). Hah!

Have a good ‘un

Categories: About Me | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Tag! You’re it!

  1. Love your answers for #3 & #9!

    I’m going to answer your here, because I already did on on my blog.
    1) Not having any money available to invest right now. Ticks me off.
    2) Owner of a small cafe/tea shop within walking distance of home.
    3) Salvation Army. They spend the smallest % on administration, so most of the money goes to where it is needed.
    4) Getting my thoughts out of my head and talking to people. It’s like an online diary with built in sounding board.
    5) My boyfriend’s 😉 I love Italian accents and anything with a low growl to it.
    6) Currently spreadsheet so I can copy and paste it into my blog.
    7) Skating outdoors. Sipping tea or hot chocolate. Cuddling (that’s an activity, right?)
    8) My grandmother. She invested her money and is a millionaire many times over.
    9) Larger paycheque 😉
    10) Tough one. Apples to eat, oranges to drink
    11) If your outgo exceeds your income, your upkeep will be your downfall.

  2. I just did a tag for Cassie, so I’m going to continue the trend and answer your questions here.

    What’s your financial pet peeve? – People who complain about their situation but don’t try to do something to change it.

    What’s your dream job? – I’d love to empower women and young girls about how they can take control of their money and their life.

    You’ve got $1000 to give to one charity, which one do you choose and why? – I’d give it to “Because I am Girl” because I really believe it’s only be investing in girls that society can advance as a whole.

    What’s your favourite thing about blogging? – Find this wonderful supportive group of people who want to succeed and want me to succeed and sharing our journey.

    What accent is sexiest to your ears? – Australian.

    How do you budget – jars, spreadsheet, paper and pencil? – Spreadsheet

    What’s your favourite no-cost winter activity? – Skating or a walk in the park

    Who do you admire or aspire to, financially? – Gail VaxOxlade

    If you could change one thing about your work, what would that be? – For better mentorship of their employees so that we feel like we are more than just about billable hours.

    Apples or oranges? – Oranges

    What’s the best financial advice you’ve ever been given? – Live below your means.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

