March Recap

So long March! What a crazy month – between the up and down weather and way work suddenly went from being slow to holy-smokes-everyone-wants-something-now busy, March really seemed to fly by. I think I did alright with my budget this month, I hit the red in some areas of my budget, but overall, I’m happy that I managed to save approximately half of my income for the month. You gotta love those 3 paycheque months. I’m hoping as the weather gets warmer, my hydro bill will slip down even further, which should help me save even more. Here’s my March budget summary:

image

I did have some expenses this month that I wasn’t counting on, mainly an hour-long massage (it’s labelled chiropractic on the budget) and a visit to the vet. Totally unrelated I assure you. I ended up getting a massage because I was getting more headaches than normal and my neck and shoulders were really stiff. The massage was great and really helped me loosen up, which helped the headaches. Money well spent as far as I’m concerned. As well, I took my cat to another vet for a second opinion on her wonky eye. The other vet was very nice and they gave me a good deal on the visit. This vet suspects my cat may have Horner’s Syndrome – so she’s going to order in the drops that test/treat it. Fingers crossed it works and my cat’s wonky eye will finally be cured.

I totally failed on my no shopping goal for March. I caved and bought a pair of boots from the Gap, a creme egg McFlurry for my officemate and myself, a diffuser (my house smells like liliacs now – yay!), and clothes pins. I had some wooden clothes pins but after the third time I picked my sheets up off the lawn, I decided it was time to invest in some sturdier plastics pins.

As for April, I’m not going to say I’m not going to shop (say that ten times fast) because that is precisely what I’m going to do tomorrow. My Mom asked me if I wanted to make a trip to the city with her, which inevitably means a trip to Costco, Home Sense, a mall, pretty much the works. I would like to get a few more things for the house, like some new sheets, a lamp for the office, and new pillows. All in all, I’m going to give myself a shopping budget of $200. My other big spend item this month will be the lawyer’s fees for drawing up a will. I’ve put this off long enough, time to bite the bullet and get it done. I’m figuring about $400 should cover it. The other thing I want to do in April is find some old fashion square nails for my trunk and leather straps for the handles. I’m thinking a trip out to the Mennonites is in order.

How was your March? What’cha got planned for April?

Categories: Budget, Monthly Summary, Review | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “March Recap

  1. My March was great, but I’m in the same boat as your for April – I’ve got some things to buy. I’m not expecting any huge net worth improvements next month, which is ok because March was so brilliant.

  2. I had noooo idea that there is such thing as creme egg mcflurries. Now I want one.

  3. April is going to be a rough month, car inspection is due and summer tires need put on.. lets just hope there is nothing wrong with the car! Bright side? it means winter is over for another year 🙂

  4. March went very well in my budget world!! I came in under budget in every single category, which was great seeing as February sucked. lol! April i’m hoping for good things as well.. but we’ll see. I have 2 birthdays! Time will tell… 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

