CPCF12, here I come!

A little while ago, I decided that I would attend the Canadian Personal Finance Conference, coming up in September. I’m looking forward to the conference which will surely have some great personal finance speakers and of course, the opportunity to meet some fellow bloggers. I promise, I won’t show up in rubber boots. Well, maybe I won’t show up in rubber boots – no promises if it’s raining.

After I plunked down my cash money for early registration, I drew up a quick plan for costing out a trip to the big smoke. The first thing I had to think about was how to get to Toronto. I could drive, but I really hate driving in Toronto. I’m not used to city driving: tight streets, lots of cars, pedestrians everywhere and cyclists, so driving and especially in downtown Toronto is something I want to avoid. That pretty much leaves catching a train. I have enough Via Rail Preference points (think Air Miles but for trains) to get me to Toronto and back, so I’ll be able to get to Toronto for free!

Next is accommodations – my criteria are pretty simple: near the conference and train station (must be able to walk) and not too expensive. I’m not picky when it comes to hotels, I just want something close and that isn’t infested with bedbugs. From a quick search of the google, it looks like there’s a couple of hotels in the area, so I’m going to aim for about $150/night, although anything less would be awesome.

A girl’s gotta eat, but yay for conference-food! Breakfast and lunch on Saturday and breakfast on Sunday are provided, so that leaves supper Saturday and lunch Sunday. I imagine I’ll be able to keep a food budget of under $40.

Shopping: Nope, not going to do it. Besides, it totally sucks hauling stuff back on a train.

So what’s the total cost for attending CPFC12?

  • Conference Registration $50
  • Train $0
  • Hotel ($150 x 2 nights) $300
  • Food $40
  • Fun $40 (what can I say, I’m a cheap date)

That’s $430 for the weekend. Not too bad, really. Are you going to CPFC12? What do you expect it will cost you? 

Categories: Budget, Review, Spending | Tags: | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “CPCF12, here I come!

  1. I’m hoping to! We’ll see. I’ve requested the Friday off, so hopefully I can get it – if so, I’ll be coming!

  2. I don’t think I will be making it out to any blogging conferences this year. It’s just tough to swing the expenses and time away from work. Next year I’m definitely going to try to at least go to FinCon though.

  3. vanessasmoney

    I’m staying at a hostel a few blocks away (http://www.canadianalodging.com/prices.php) so that I can keep my costs down

  4. Cait

    I’m going! With a return flight, it’ll probably cost me $600. I’m staying w/ my old roomie for free, so I’ll need extra cash to hang w/ her for the week after, but it’ll be worth it 🙂 can’t wait to meet you!

  5. OMG, I’m so glad that you are going to the conference!! I can’t wait to meet you! 🙂

  6. What? I’ll be there too!

  7. I really looking forward to it and meet the crowd. I do not have any specific expectations, to be perfectly honest.

    Yes blogging generates quite a bit of money and help me on the way to financial independence but it is still a hobby. Thing that I enjoy and do because I enjoy it.

  8. Who-hoo! I can’t wait to meet all you folks in person!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

