A wee update and a call out for guest posts.

Image

Goodbye winter wheat!

I was over to the bank today at lunch to make my extra mortgage payment and to shuffle the rest of my bonus into my emergency fund. Thanks to everyone who posted their thoughts on what I should do with my bonus. If my bonus was a little bigger, I would have gotten my will done too. I think I will get it done in September, when things calm down and I have time to put some thought into it. 

I was flipping through this week’s Ontario Farmer and noticed that Cents of Country Girl was mentioned in an article. It took a lot of will power to keep from cutting the article out right then and there. I can only imagine the look on the old man’s face if he found his Ontario Farmer cut up before he got a chance to read it. My post about my Dad’s retirement and the likelihood of the farm being sold caught some attention. I haven’t had a chance yet to ask my Dad what he thought about the article in the Ontario Farmer. It might be just the opening I need to have the succession talk with him. 

Continuing with the good news, the wheat is off. It’s amazing how stressful harvesting a crop can be. Last week we waited for the neighbour’s new combine to arrive so we could get started at the wheat. When it finally arrived, they didn’t bring the header with it, but thankfully the header from the old combine fit. Sunday, we were all set and ready to go and the weather looked like it was going to turn. It’s always the way, when it’s our turn to harvest, the weather threatens. The real worry wasn’t that it was going to rain, with the heat and the humidity, we were more concerned about getting a big nasty thunderstorm that would flatten the wheat. The weather passed and we were able to get started on Sunday and finish up Monday. Whew, what a relief to get that done without incident. The other big worry this year, that we don’t normally have during the wheat harvest, was something catching on fire. We haven’t had rain in a month and everything is bone dry, so it would just take a spark to set a field on fire. There have been a few field fires around, so it added a little more stress to the harvest because we were all worried about starting a fire. Now that the wheat is harvested, a few days of nice, steady rain would be greatly appreciated. The soybeans are looking mighty thirsty. If the weather continues to be dry and hot, we might only get the wheat harvest. 

As you can likely tell, it’s been a busy week and it’s not looking like it’s going to slow down anytime soon. Work is really busy, so busy, I’m not going to be able to take any time off for the rest of the summer. Add a busy after-work schedule (baseball, volunteer committees, summer visiting and trying to find time to vacuum up the cat-hair dust bunnies), and I’m pretty much running every night. Tonight is actually the first night I’ve had my computer on in a week! I haven’t had much time to devote to blogging, but I’m hoping in two to three weeks things will settle down. Until then, if anyone would like to write a guest post, I’d love to get some for the next couple weeks. I’m not picky so you can write about almost whatever you like. Just let me know if you’re interested (send me an email: centsofacountrygirl@gmail.com), then send me your post with a little intro about yourself or your blog, and I’ll post it here. I can’t promise a great deal in return but I’ll definitely show you some link love a la twitter and you’ll have my thanks. It’s a big thanks too. 

Have a good ‘un

Country Girl

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “A wee update and a call out for guest posts.

  1. I’d love to do one, perhaps I can find time this weekend, I’m like you, running flat out.

  2. Congrats on getting your post mentioned in a printed publication. That must’ve been very satisfying to see. A lot of bloggers have aspirations of one day being mentioned offline. And good to hear that you managed to avoid the bad weather and get your wheat harvest in.

  3. That’s great news congratulations!!! I know about busy, it’s crazy at our house as well. Cheers Mr.CBB

    • Laurent,The Newton Everett reoijevenatunn product isn’t garbage like the rest of their hgh products but it sells for about twice as much as other products with similar or better formulas.

  4. Wow! You’re famous!! 😀

    On a side note, good to hear the wheat harvest is okay. Hopefully rain will come soon. I know we need it here in Ontario… Dry as a bone!

  5. I don’t know what I would write a guest post about, but if you have any requests, I’d write one 🙂

    Congrats on the magazine article and the wheat harvest!

  6. Such a refreshing change to find good content for once, I was getting tired of the continual drivel I come across daily, you deserve respect for offering readable and informative content.

  7. It is hard to find blogs that contain such consistently readable and informative content as is on offer on yours, you are due the short time it has taken to write my admiration at your hard work. Many Many Thanks.

  8. Not many blogs that offer such consistently readable and interesting content as is on offer here, you have earned the time it will take to jot down my admiration of your hard work. Many Many Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

